Rabbit Rabbit, White Rabbit, White Rabbit

81156818_

Rabbit, Rabbit…White Rabbit, White Rabbit…

If you’ve been here before, you know that today is the first of the month, which brings me to repeating, Rabbit Rabbit, White Rabbit, White Rabbit.  If you are wondering what in the world I am talking about, please continue reading…if you already know, don’t forget to say it! 🙂

On the first of every month, we say, “Rabbit, rabbit, white rabbit, white rabbit,” in the morning before breakfast (although it’s a loose rule because years ago when my son was 5, he cried because he forgot to say it before he ate and was convinced he would have a bad month)  So, being the good Mom, I amended the rule quickly before the tears really began rolling.  In fact, as my sons have grown, they’ve twisted the rabbit, rabbit to monkey, monkey ~ in a show of independence and yet caring for dear ol’ Mom.  Not quite rebelling as such, but doing it their way.  I don’t mind, I think it’s funny because they get such a kick out of saying it to me.

Do any of you know of this tradition?  I can’t tell you where it began for me or how…I just know that the start of the new month has me declaring that phrase before savoring my first sip of my coffee in the early morning and brings me a smile knowing that I’ve begun my month with luck!

I started looking up the phrase ‘Rabbit, rabbit” and a plethora of websites and theories abounded.  Some stated that the tradition started in the 1880s, some stated that there are conditions upon saying the phrase to another person, some even have a slight variation on the way it’s said (hare in the morning, rabbit at night).  It’s an interesting take on a cute family tradition that I never thought much about….until now.

One piqued my interest:

“There is a tradition in the military (at least in the USAF) involving white rabbit. It is a game, as well as a way to keep in touch with those with whom you were stationed. When a new month begins, it is a contest as to who can tell the other person ‘white rabbit’ first; must be live communication, no answering machines, letters, etc. Usually the wager would be a drink. However, like I said, it allowed you an ‘excuse’ to call people once a month and catch up.”

So, in the military tradition, I send you Rabbit, Rabbit first…

Now let’s go get a Mimosa to start off our month with luck!

For me, it’ll be lucky because you’re buying!

Have you said it this morning?

Rabbit, Rabbit, White Rabbit, White Rabbit to YOU!

Shine On!

xo

78 thoughts on “Rabbit Rabbit, White Rabbit, White Rabbit

  1. Oh yes I grew up in England and we always said that… We also as kids at school .. A pinch and a punch for the first day of the month!!!.. Only a little pinch and punch!!! Gosh memories..

  2. ¡Híjole! No wonder I broke out in hives…I forgot to say Rabbit, Rabbit!
    A day late & a dollar short – It’s not even yesterday anywhere anymore.
    Woe is me…
    {Abrazos}

  3. Thank you for enlightening me. I’ve never heard of this tradition and wondered what I was missing when someone would say rabbit rabbit. Now I know 🙂

  4. While I have never heard of rabbit, rabbit, it’s a tradition worth incorporating into our lives — staying connected with friends and family. Today, I will reach out in reason and by telephone. Thank u for sharing.

  5. Pingback: It Matters How You Speak | Misifusa's Blog

  6. Pingback: It’s a New Day and a New Month! | Misifusa's Blog

  7. Never heard it before (and I’m an Air Force brat, too) – but I said it today on December first, hoping to turn around an incredibly unbelievable UNlucky year *just* in time for an unbelievably LUCKY Christmas season. Thanks for sharing.
    xx,
    mgh
    (Madelyn Griffith-Haynie – ADDandSoMuchMore dot com)
    – ADD Coach Training Field founder; ADD Coaching co-founder –
    “It takes a village to educate a world!”

  8. Pingback: Encouraging Thunder Award! | Misifusa's Blog

  9. Pingback: Remembrance on All Saint’s Day | Misifusa's Blog

  10. Pingback: What Do You Believe? The Gnomist | Misifusa's Blog

  11. Pingback: Rabbit Rabbit It’s September 1st! | Misifusa's Blog

  12. Pingback: The Popular Rabbit, Rabbit! | Misifusa's Blog

  13. Pingback: Night Bunny | Misifusa's Blog

  14. Pingback: Rabbit Rabbit December 1st | Misifusa's Blog

  15. Pingback: Rabbits January 1st, 2018 | Misifusa's Blog

  16. Pingback: Rabbit Rabbit | Misifusa's Blog

  17. Pingback: Rabbit Rabbit With Clover | Misifusa's Blog

  18. Pingback: Happy Easter Rabbit Rabbit Fool’s Day! | Misifusa's Blog

  19. Pingback: May 1st Rabbit Rabbit | Misifusa's Blog

  20. Pingback: Rabbit Rabbit | Misifusa's Blog

  21. Pingback: July First – Rabbit Rabbit! | Misifusa's Blog

  22. Pingback: Rabbit Rabbit August First | Misifusa's Blog

  23. Pingback: September 1st Rabbit Rabbit | Misifusa's Blog

  24. Pingback: Rabbit Rabbit October 1st | Misifusa's Blog

  25. Pingback: November First Rabbit Rabbit | Misifusa's Blog

  26. Pingback: December 1st Rabbit Rabbit | Misifusa's Blog

  27. Pingback: A New Year Rabbit Rabbit Welcome 2019 | Misifusa's Blog

  28. Pingback: Rabbit Rabbit February 1st! | Misifusa's Blog

  29. Pingback: Rabbit Rabbit March 1st | Misifusa's Blog

  30. Pingback: Another Belated Rabbit Rabbit | Misifusa's Blog

  31. Pingback: Ode To November | Misifusa's Blog

  32. Pingback: Rabbit Rabbit 2020 | Misifusa's Blog

  33. Pingback: February 2020 White Rabbit, White Rabbit | Misifusa's Blog

  34. Pingback: Rabbit Rabbit March 1st | Misifusa's Blog

  35. Pingback: June First – Rabbit Rabbit | Misifusa's Blog

  36. Pingback: White Rabbit, White Rabbit | Misifusa's Blog

  37. Pingback: August 1st Rabbit Rabbit | Misifusa's Blog

  38. Pingback: August 1st Rabbit Rabbit | Misifusa's Blog

  39. Pingback: September 1st Rabbit Rabbit | Misifusa's Blog

  40. Pingback: October’s Rabbit Rabbit | Misifusa's Blog

  41. Pingback: Rabbit Rabbit November 1st | Misifusa's Blog

  42. Pingback: Rabbit Rabbit | Misifusa's Blog

  43. Pingback: Mr. Groundhog Returns! | Misifusa's Blog

  44. Pingback: The Peony | Misifusa's Blog

  45. Pingback: Rabbit Rabbit February 2023 | Misifusa's Blog

  46. Pingback: September Rabbit Rabbit | Misifusa's Blog

  47. Pingback: October 2023 | Misifusa's Blog

  48. Pingback: November 1st Rabbit Rabbit | Misifusa's Blog

  49. Pingback: December 1st Rabbit Rabbit | Misifusa's Blog

  50. Pingback: February 1st | Misifusa's Blog

Leave a comment