Home For The Holidays

homefortheholidays

There’s no place like home for the holidays…does that phrase ring a bell?  Remind you of a holiday song from your past?  See below if that catchy tune is now playing in your mind.

The holidays are a happy time, but they can also be fraught with grief for some.  Personally, I have always adored Christmas, but lately, not so much.  For you see, many relationships in my life have changed in the last few years:  some have passed away, some have moved and some have slowly disappeared.  As I ready my home for the coming holidays, I’m reminded of how much has changed in my life and quite frankly, I am grieving.  There, I said it.  I’m telling you because I need a hug.  I know I’ll have the strength to get through this holiday season with a smile on my face and compassion in my heart.  I know I can do it because I’ve done it before and I will do it again.  But for this brief moment, my heart feels heavy and tears are silently making their way down my cheeks.

Do you ever feel this way during the holiday season?  Is there ever a time when you feel like you need a loving embrace to sustain you?  Do you grieve for what used to be?  For who used to be at your table?  For those who have passed or changed?

You are not alone my dear friends.  At one time or another on life’s journey, we will all be missing someone who is no longer in our lives for whatever reason and we grieve that loss…we find strength, we find courage and eventually we find a new normal and accept that the holidays are different.

My Christmas table will be missing some family this year.  Changes aren’t easy but with courage we can rise to any occasion and get through it.  Baby steps…one baby step at a time.  So prayers for you, prayers for me and may loving, holiday peace surround us all.  It matters that love surrounds your table.  Light your heartlight and open your home to love.

Shine On!

xo

(There’s No Place Like) Home For The Holidays ~ Perry Como
Oh, there’s no place like home for the holidays,
‘Cause no matter how far away you roam,
When you pine for the sunshine of a friendly gaze,
For the holidays, you can’t beat home, sweet home.
I met a man who lives in Tennessee.
He was headin’ for, Pennsylvania, and some home-made pumpkin pie.
From Pennsylvania, folks are travelin’ down to Dixie’s sunny shore,
From Atlantic to Pacific, gee, the traffic is terrific.
Oh, there’s no place like home for the holidays,
‘Cause no matter how far away you roam,
If you want to be happy in a million ways,
For the holidays, you can’t beat home, sweet home.
Take a bus, take a train, go and hop an airplane,
Put the wife and kiddies in the family car,
For the pleasure that you bring when you make that doorbell ring,
No trip could be too far!

9 thoughts on “Home For The Holidays

  1. This year is tough for me too. Losing my mom, and grandmother last year during this time. I didn’t decorate, celebrate, or really participate in 2014. This year is better, and I’m focused on the living. I almost feel a duty to celebrate the living, because everyone else is in Heaven and having a better time than me!
    Grief is hard to shake off. But I’m so happy you posted Perry Como. I don’t think he got the credit he deserved. What a voice. What a great song.
    Take your time to grieve. With what you are facing, you deserve to take whatever time you want, and come out on the other side better.
    Sending much love, and lots of hugs.
    Wendy

    • Wendy, I’m sending you healing hugs as well. Thanks for sharing your grief with me as I hold yours as tenderly as I hold my own. We come out on the other side better, that’s for sure. May this holiday season be filled with loving memories, joyful moments and the embrace of peace for you. xoxo Thanks for understanding…

  2. Beautiful Yvonne. Those we love can never leave our hearts or minds. Wishing you a beautiful peaceful holiday and thankyou for the love and light you bring to us through the year. Merry Christmas.

  3. Dear Yvonne, When I read this post and saw you were asking for a hug, it touched my heart in such a deep way – and tears I have needed to shed began falling down my cheeks. I understand those empty places – especially during the holidays. I lost my Husband 2 year+ ago – while we both were in remission from cancer. I understand the anguish of having dear friends and even family members disappear because they don’t know what to do or say, and that perhaps loss and grief might be “contagious”. I understand feeling pressured to put on a fake smile when someone asks, “how are you”, and I know they just really mean, “are you over it now?” So with my deepest feelings of empathy and love, I send you many, many heartfelt and warm hugs. I hope you can FEEL them!

    • Dearest Karen, I am so sorry for your loss and I am grateful for your sharing. I am sending you healing hugs and a warm peacefilled embrace. Your kind, warm, loving comment touches my heart and I want you to know how much I appreciate you. May you know that you are in my prayers xoxo And YES! I can feel your warm hugs! Hope you can feel mine! ♥

  4. Dear Yvonne – I do, I DO feel those warm hugs! Can’t thank you enough for your kind response and your good wishes and prayers. You have given me a wonderful gift of being comforted and I thank you so much for that, oxo

    • Karen, it is my distinct pleasure to know you are comforted as that is what we are all here for, to comfort each other in times of strive and times of peace. I am truly grateful for our connection and as always, send you a heartfelt embrace. xo

Leave a comment