We Are All Family

weareallfamily

“Each time a person passes by you and you say ‘hello’, imagine that person turning into a candle. The more positivity, love and light you reflect, the more light is mirrored your way. Sharing beautiful hellos is the quickest way to earn spiritual brownie points. You should start seeing hellos as small declarations of faith. Every time you say hello to a stranger, your heart acknowledges over and over again that we are all family.”

― Suzy Kassem, Rise Up and Salute the Sun: The Writings of Suzy Kassem

About a year ago, I moved away from neighbors with whom I’d bonded for almost twenty years.  We were a tight neighborhood, all of us ready to lend a helping hand and to enjoy each other’s company.  It was a sad moment for me when we left our safety net of neighbors, but luckily, we have all stayed in touch.

Last night, my sweet neighbors surprised me with peonies from their yard.  I adore peonies and their sweet fragrance.  Every year my neighbors shared their field of peonies with us all.  So I can’t even begin to tell you how much it meant to me that they remembered me and made the effort to drive across town to deliver them in a beautiful vase!  Their generous and kind gesture made my heart smile so much!  It reminded me that no matter what the circumstances, we are all family when we choose to be.

The connections we make, the smiles we share and the kindness that continues makes me so grateful for all of the heartlights who make up my family.  We are all so blessed.

Shine On!

xo

8 thoughts on “We Are All Family

  1. Your story is good for me to read as I have been having trust issues with humanity the past few months. We need to read and hear more stories like what you shared here – there is great good and unity yet here in this world.

    • Saymber I’m sorry you’ve had to endure trust issues. Yes, dear one, there is good in the world when we unite in love. Keep smiling – hello to you! xo

Leave a comment