Letting Go of Expectations

expectations

Do you make New Year’s Resolutions?  Truthfully, it’s been a long time since I’ve tried to do it myself.  But I’d love to know if you do make resolutions and if you stick with them?  And if you are successful, would you let us all in on your secret?  Pretty please?

Because this year, I’m not making any resolutions in the traditional sense.  Instead, I plan to build on lessons I’ve learned and to expand them.  Does that sound confusing?  Well, let me try to explain.

For example, I have a hard time with expectations.  Perhaps it is unrealistic, but somehow I expect people to be kind and to communicate because that’s what I try to do.  However, my unmet expectations gave me so much unrest in 2016, that I am finally letting them go.  Just because communication is important to me, I realize that it may not be so important to others.  So I’m releasing that give and take expectation and just accepting the reality of the current situation.  I think it’s healthier for me and in 2017, that’s my goal!

Do you have certain expectations which fall short in your life?  How do you handle them?  If you have any advice, I’m open to reading any suggestions you may want to share.

May 2017 bring you peace, joy, health, wealth and love!

Shine On!

xo

18 thoughts on “Letting Go of Expectations

  1. I am like you, I have so high expectations of others! I just believe that all people have empathy and are kind and unselfish, and I just can’t understand when people are so greedy and completely uncaring towards others, so I get disappointed. I know exactly what you mean! 🙂 ❤

    • Trini, I knew you’d understand as we both feel the same way. It breaks my heart at times. I’ll just continue to do my part to offset what I don’t like. xoxo

  2. I often find that my expectations of other’s to behave or respond in.a certain way are premeditated disappointments on my part! Love this thought Yvonne — to let go of expectations and to simply accept people to be as they are, not as I expect them to be.

  3. That is a very healthy plan! I’m also trying to expect less from myself this year, honoring me and my limitations. We should have a lot less disappointment in 2017!

  4. The buzz-phrase in business these past few years has been “managing expectations.” As a consequence, I have reduced mine considerably, unless agreements are in place. As for my expectations of me, I guess they remain largely the same as they have been for many many years. General, not specific.

  5. In my experience expectations are the seed to resentment – seldom to we or does anyone live up to expectations so that’s a good one to work on. I haven’t really made an official resolution but I want to work on finding one extraordinary thing each day. Today it was the humble kitchen spatula lol. I found towards the end of this year I was getting really “low” and just apathetic to a pathetic point. I don’t want to wish away my time here. Good luck with your goals – they are not unrealistic! (smile).

  6. I also gave up on resolutions – New Years is just another day. Having goals is good, but I feel we do not need a new year to make goals. God blessings to you and your family.

  7. No real resolutions here either, just some goals. Dr’s orders, lose 17 pounds to start with. The beginning of 30. Health is my word for the year. I want to reclaim it. It’s a goal that I intend to reach. As for expectations. the Buddhists say expectations are the cause of all suffering. I believe that. I have learned to let go of expectations of anyone. I’m even letting go of expectations of myself. I can only do so much these days and that just has to be enough. I’m not a lazy person but getting older has added limitations. That has to be ok for me and for others. I’ve learned not to be so judgemental but this year I want to write more and get out and meet more people. Resolutions are goals with no accountability. I’m having my doctor hold me accountable and my sewing group holds me accountable there as does my blogging community. Have a wonderfilled new year with no expectations. 🙂

  8. Yvonne last year I set off with determination to get my projects finished. I had apps for everything to prompt me along the way and a goal in mind. I did not get there. So this year Im taking my time to decide my inspirational word for the year. Im going to set achievable goals and just turn up at my table each day and do the work. Hope its a year loaded with opportunities and balance.

Leave a Reply

