Shallow Views of Money

soul-of-money-cover

I am reading a book called The Soul of Money by Lynne Twist which was recommended by Peace With My Life – also known as Embers of Light in a recent blog post.  Her review inspired me to buy the book immediately.  When  today’s daily prompt shallow  came up, it reminded me of a passage in the book.

More is better misguides us in a deeper way.  It leads us to define ourselves by financial success and external achievements.  We judge others based on what they have and how much they have, and miss the immeasurable inner gifts they bring to life.  All the great spiritual teachings tell us to look inside to find the wholeness we crave, but the scarcity chase allows no time or psychic space for that kind of introspection.  In the pursuit of more we overlook the fullness and completeness that are already within us waiting to be discovered.  Our drive to enlarge our net worth turns us away from discovering and deepening our self-worth.

I found the book an eye-opener as to the views of money that pervade our society.  I was intrigued with the author’s thoughts and theories and debunked myths.  In fact, the above quote is from her Toxic Myth # 2:  More Is Better.

Our individualized beliefs about money can be changed which is good because if we come from a lack and scarcity background, we simply continue to perpetuate Twist’s Toxic Myth #1:  There’s Not Enough.  But the good news is that we can heal our relationship with money.

I suggest you stop over to visit Karel when you get the chance and maybe even order the book for yourself if you feel inclined.  I love when a book recommendation is really worth it and for me, this was!

Let me know what you think!

Shine On!

xo

 

 

6 thoughts on “Shallow Views of Money

  1. Thank you so much!! I’m glad that you are enjoying the book. The never know if other enjoy what we do, so I’m happy that the book is helpful. I can’t believe the miracle shift we had in our finances after reading it! Effortlessly. Hugs!

  2. Pingback: The Weekly Headlines – My Daily Musing

Leave a Reply

