Staying in the Present Moment

stayinginthepresentmoment

Whew, I don’t know about you, but sometimes it’s mighty hard to stay in the present moment.  With all of life’s busyness, I think sometimes we get caught up in the hubbub of what needs to be done today and we let being present fall by the wayside.  Does this happen to you?

I know it happens to me.

Bills, appointments, responsibilities, paperwork and all the roles I play during day to day living sometimes have me running without a break to simply stop and smell the roses.  To be in the stillness of the moment, whether alone or with someone else.  To just feel the gift of being present.

Often, we live in a whirlwind where we scurry from moment to moment without hesitation when our lives are full and then we fall into our beds at night, exhausted from life in general.  It’s hard to find a few minutes of peace to go within the stillness of our hearts.  Meditation helps if we can find the time to still our minds for a respite, but more often than not, unless we are disciplined, other responsibilities take precedence.  But meditation doesn’t have to be a formal time set exercise.  It can simply be taking five minutes to really enjoy that cup of tea or coffee and relaxing our minds.  It can be taking a quiet walk outside and listening to the birds or feeling the earth under our feet.  It can be closing our eyes and enjoying the peaceful silence.  We can think positive thoughts, speak affirmations that work for us, pray or just be grateful for this moment in time.  I find that taking 10 minutes to simply free write helps me to clear the clutter from my brain which builds up after time.  Even writing my blog allows me to be still and get into that place of peace.

What helps you to find stillness in the present moment?

Today, try to carve out a few minutes of peace for yourself.  Breathe deeply, stay in the moment, be grateful for all that is in your life and be joyful for the blessings that you enjoy.  Give yourself the gift of presence, even for a few precious moments today.  You deserve the peace and tranquility that comes with it!

Shine On!

xo

 

7 thoughts on “Staying in the Present Moment

  1. One of the things my physical therapist told me to do is to get up at least once an hour and walk around a little. Most of the time, I have someone to see or a question to ask, but sometimes, I just get up and walk a bit. It always helps my neck and shoulders, and it often helps my head,

    • Dan, thank you! I had completely forgotten about exercising the body for body/mind connection! I appreciate your sharing! It does help immensely and something I do myself! 🙂

  2. Great advice, Yvonne.
    Financial advisors will tell clients to ensure a comfortable retirement they should pay themselves 10%first, and invest it. Your suggestion is too like paying forward for a stable lifestyle.
    I take Archbishop Fulton J. Sheen’s lead by doing a holy hour each day. It represents the hour that the Apostle’s could not manage to stay with Jesus, at His moment of agony. That time I spend reading Bible passages, a daily prayer selection and the rosary. For those with limited time 20 minutes will do wonders, in paying forward for a focused perspective and stability while in His presence.
    -Alan

    • Alan, I love your way of taking time for yourself, your soul and God. What a great way to make your life special everyday! Thanks for sharing! I love to hear from you!

  3. It stopped raining for an hour yesterday so I could get out for a walk and spend time looking at all the buds popping out. It’s still chilly but spring is here and I am enjoying the breaks in the weather to just observe what nature has planned for this year. Have a wonderfilled week.

  4. Pingback: The Weekly Headlines – My Daily Musing

Leave a Reply

