How To Pick Yourself Up

howtopickyourselfup

There are times in all of our lives when all of our best laid plans and dreams go kapluey. (Does anyone know how to spell that word correctly?  Please advise!)  It hardly ever happens at a convenient time because, let’s be frank, whoever says, “I want upheaval in my life right now!  Woo Hoo!  Bring it on!”  To my knowledge, those people are few and far between, as the majority of us would prefer smooth sailing.

But that’s not always possible, nor is it probably beneficial, because even in nature, a little rain must fall from time to time to grow us, a little sun must shine to heal us and a little wind must blow to help us to connect with others.

Ok, am I being too spiritual for you?  Do you think I don’t understand all that you’re enduring?  I may not, but I have endured much in this life so far and I have found that in sharing our stories, we help ourselves and others to find peace.

Maybe that’s not the way for you.  Perhaps the darkness feels too heavy right now for you.  I have been there and I understand.  I have felt the weight of sadness in my life.  We all have.  But it’s what you do with your sadness that makes the difference.

There’s a time and a place to sink into the sad, poor me bubble.  I do not deny that fact.  But there is a time when we must be like the little donkey, see my post ~ https://misifusa.wordpress.com/2013/08/30/fridays-burro/ ~ and take what we are given and use the experiences to find our heartlight again, to reignite it and to grow!

I can hear some of you now ~ she doesn’t get what I’m dealing with here, I’m just barely surviving, this is too pie in the sky baloney, she doesn’t know me, she doesn’t have a clue, etc.

Yes, I know and you are right.  I do not understand whatever you are dealing with at this time.  But then again, maybe I’ve experienced something similar.

The difference is what we do when the chips are down and how we react when our path gets strewn with debris, disappointments and such.  We can get angry, get resentful and be hurtful.  We can wallow in an all-out pity party.  We can turn the other cheek.  We can walk away.  We can hang on with all we’ve got.  We can share our strive with trusted friends.  We can take pills to make the pain go away.  We can attend to fixing the situation at hand.  We can ignore it.  We can allow our hearts to harden.  We can be doormats.  We can put up walls and shut everyone out.

OR

We can look inside of ourselves and work on healing.

It’s a choice dear friends.  That’s what life is all about ~ choices.  We have the freedom to choose every single moment of everyday.  We can choose again if we find that our initial choice isn’t what we want.  That’s the beauty of life school.

So how do we pick ourselves up after we stumble?

We choose to pick ourselves up.  That’s step one and a very important step in life.  The first one is sometimes the hardest step (you’ve heard the expression, that first step is a lulu!) but it’s the beginning after an ending and it’s a baby step for sure.

But it is always, a step in the right direction and that’s how we pick ourselves up!

Shine On!

xo

 

16 thoughts on “How To Pick Yourself Up

  1. You said it sister!!! Too many get stuck in or feel pinned down by, the (please excuse) the crapstorm that life throws at us sometimes. But…you’ve nailed the big one….CHOICES. It’s all about choices. And funny enough, often times, just taking that first step by making a choice (even it it’s the wrong one) gets our feet moving enough to get out of the quag and back onto the road, where we can choose a different direction if we need to! Have I told you lately just how much you rock? You Rock!!! xoxo

  2. Excellent. It’s all about choices, and when we get ingrown, we can’t effectively pick ourselves up.
    Love your “shine on” by the way.
    Have a great weekend!

  3. Yvonne I won’t lie to you my life is far from perfect but I choose to stay on the positive vibe rather than talk about the hard stuff. When i feel overwhelmed about autism I try to read something positive or do something positive. Its not easy but we can make choices to help us cope and I usually stop and try not to react instantly. Thanks for reminding me today that I must always get back up and try again.

  4. So true. I agree there’s a time and place for sitting with our sadness, but at some point we must pick ourselves up and make choices for a better future. Even if it means just being vulnerable with someone else and sharing what we’re going through rather than holding it all in.

Leave a Reply

