Is It Too Early To Decorate For Christmas?

decorateforchristmasIt’s four days before Thanksgiving and I’m contemplating taking down the pumpkins, the cornucopia and the orange tidbits that are scattered around my house.  I’m not hosting Thanksgiving this year so I don’t feel the need to keep the stuffed turkey doll that sings, ‘eat chicken’ displayed.  LOL

My usual custom has been to begin decorating for the holidays right after Thanksgiving.  It used to be that I was told to only decorate in a winter motif with no Santas out until December first, but this year, there are no restrictions.  And I’m feeling a bit of holly jolly in the crisp weather.

So I’m asking…what do you think?  What are your traditions?  Do you think I’m rushing the fa la la la la like the stores?  Or should I just go for it and do what I feel in my heart I want to do?

For me, the love and joy of Christmas is contagious.  It’s in the twinkle in the lights, the joyful greens and reds that make me smile.  It’s in the giving of traditional gifts and the giving of ourselves to others.  It’s in the joy in singing hymns which evoke memories of precious happy times and Christmas carols which bond us in peace.

I love the season and wish it could last all year long.  Perhaps that’s why decorating early has such an appeal.  I never tire of the sparkle and simple joys that the holidays bring.

Thanks for reading and for allowing me to process how I feel.  I’m off to gently put away Mr. Turkey and begin to shine my heartlight.  ‘Tis the season you know to shine!

Shine On!

xo

 

55 thoughts on “Is It Too Early To Decorate For Christmas?

  1. My tradition is usually to decorate on Thanksgiving weekend. it’s nice because I have my family here and it’s more fun with everyone lending a hand ❤ But let's face it, I would leave my lights up all year long if I could!

  2. Go for it sweetie! A little secret….I leave my tree up year round. Yup, I do. I remove the ornaments and tuck the tree into a darker corner of my living room and in the evening, it becomes ambient light. 🙂 I’ve brought it out into the foyer for Thanksgiving, as I’m hosting this year, and while I haven’t put the ornaments on, it does lend that added festive touch and makes my oranges, yellows, and reds, sparkle just that much more. But…by the end of this week, Christmas will be more than evident!!!

    • I love that you shared your secret with me xo I did a little bit of ‘elfing’ here and put a few festive pieces out, lit a balsam candle and just enjoyed the peace of decorating a little at a time. ♥

      • Yankee Balsam and Cedar is the ONLY candle I light during the holidays. And I love ‘decorating a little at a time’ It makes it last that much longer. xoxo

      • Love the smell of a real tree candle~ yummers! There’s nothing like it. I had a cranberry one burning but kids didn’t like the smell. But they do love the balsam. Happy Thanksgiving dear Rhonda! xoxo

      • Love you too Rhonda! I hope you had a lovely time with your family. I know Superman isn’t physically here, but don’t doubt that he isn’t all around you. xoxo

  3. When I was a kid, Christmas didn’t arrive at our house until Christmas Eve. Mom would have dad get out the decorations, we’d cut a tree and place it in the corner of the living room. Then after supper, when mom was finished work, we’d decorate the tree and the house. Then we would sit around, drinking hot chocolate and sing Christmas carols. During the next twelve days, we’d celebrate the season with family and friends. No one decorated early and so, Christmas arrived, on time and stayed its course. I really miss those days.

    Sorry, got a little nostalgic.

    I say, decorate when you want…it’s your house and you know what makes you happy 🙂

  4. I think the best time is whenever you want to do it. We used to do it the day after Thanksgiving. This year we are kind of boycotting traditions – donating to favorite charities instead of exchanging gifts with family and not sure if we’ll put up decorations or not. As I’ve gotten older Christmas isn’t what it used to be.

    • Thanks for taking your time to write. I always began right after Thanksgiving, but I felt the desire to begin decorating so and so I began. It takes awhile for me anyway to do it, so I jus started a little bit today. I hope that you feel a bit of the joy of the holiday season as the days go on. Big hugs to you ~ I love the charity donations. Do what makes you feel great! ♥

  5. We always put our tree up in the first week of December. I love the preparation of Christmas. I think you have stirred us all, to get started and enjoy this season! Thanks Yvonne and Happy Thanksgiving 🙂

    • Happy Thanksgiving to you and yours Karen! I just love the festive love that Christmas brings. The smiles and laughter are what I’m after! Twinkling lights and cozy nights. Woo Hoo! May have to go unpack another Christmas box of goodies to decorate! Big hugs to you! xo

  6. Pingback: My Article Read (11-22-2015) | My Daily Musing

  7. It is never too early to decorate! When the weather is nice you have to get out there to get the outside stuff up. Our family always put up our decorations the weekend after Thanksgiving and I kept it up, sometimes it may be before Thanksgiving. Now music and movies always in September although I am known to listen to Christmas music any time of the year and a good Christmas movie whenever the mood strikes. I am not held down by what we have to do or should not do according to others opinions…I even white after Labor day!! lol My love for Jesus and our Father allows me to free to who I was created to be even if it means decorating early and taking down later…but because of work I usually take it down right after New Years, but watch out when I retire I may leave it up till Feb!!

      • I love you too – I always seem to recieve a comment from you just when I need it. Thank you for lifting me up, been sort of down because I am having a bad reaction to a medication the dr put me on and your lovely message reminded me of Gods love shown in His people –

      • Oh Patty, you make my heart sing as you are special. I’m so happy that you are reminded that you are loved. I hope you are feeling better. Sending you healing hugs xoxo

  8. You should decorate when you feel inspired to decorate. In my family we put our tree up the weekend before Christmas and kept it up until Little Christmas ( which is the Feast of the Epiphany). Little Christmas is the traditional name in Ireland. It is January 6th. I’m thinking of decorating on Black Friday!! Good way to avoid shopping.

    • Thanks Kathleen for stopping by! I held off a bit (ok, only put out a few trinkets) and will put up lights tomorrow (black Friday) and start my Christmas music. I just love the joy the season brings! ♥

Leave a Reply

