Through the Eyes of A Caregiver

alzheimers

When I was diagnosed with breast cancer, I learned all about it, from researching, googling, reading, talking with others and experiencing the illness through my body, mind and spirit.  I know more about breast cancer and its effects on women and families than I ever wanted to know.  But it has made me who I am today and for that, I am grateful.  I learned much about myself and the inner strength that I have come to rely on in my life.

Now that I have two family members battling Alzheimer’s and Dementia, my research has begun again in earnest.  This time it’s not so much about the body, but more about the mind and as the caregiver this time and not the patient, my brain works overtime as does my patience.

The mind baffles me with its twists and turns with these diseases.  In my research, I came upon the video below which brought me to tears and humbleness.  As caregivers, we may lose our patience when asked for the umpteenth time the same question or when we are unsuccessfully trying to reassure an anxiety-ridden loved one whose brain is captured by a riddle.  But we never know what they are enduring as their brains muddle through moment to moment, grasping and disconnecting at will.  Their brains only deal with the present moment and that is their reality which changes.  Talk about truly living in the present and working on finding peace in every single moment!

Perhaps this will give you a little insight as it did me.  If you are a caregiver or love someone with Alzheimer’s and Dementia, please connect with me.  Just as it helped me when I endured breast cancer, I believe that as always our connections only make us stronger.

Shine On!

xo

18 thoughts on “Through the Eyes of A Caregiver

  1. Thanks for sharing this Yvonne we all know or have someone in our lives effected by this. So hard to watch someone fade away, even though they are sitting there and you cannot reach them. My heart goes out to you and your family.

  2. Yvonne,
    Insightful post with kudos to caregivers, who are most deserving.
    We are all subject to our realities. We can no more escape them than a zebra can his stripes. From Good Friday to Easter Sunday, Christ gave meaning, purpose and value to suffering. For without it we can not attain a greater good.
    Yet in the truth of suffering He commanded of us to have compassion for those undergoing it. He did not leave us without His continued healing, comforting, reassuring and strengthening presence, as He had promised. He gives us all we need to endure it. Among those assets are our caregivers. They are truly angels from God.
    Whatever forms they may take, God, will in His set time, lift the obscuring veil of suffering, to reveal all He has prepared for those who love Him.
    -Alan

  3. This is a wonderful insight and understanding for those who care for friends or family with this difficult disease. I wish you patience, love, strength and support too Yvonne, as you walk this journey with your family.

    • Thank you so much. I feel that there are so many of us who connect here on the blogosphere who understand that life isn’t all roses and laughter, but that the pain that we endure brings more than suffering. When we can see the other side of the forest, we can help others ~ as you do in your amazing blog. I wish you all this and more. ♥

  4. Thank you so much for sharing this. My mother has dementia so I relate to your words. I live 13 hours away so my daughter who lives across the street from my mother is her primary caregiver. I go every two months and stay for 2 weeks as her secondary caregiver. It breaks my heart over and over again as I see my once vibrant, singing, dancing, joke telling mother lost somewhere inside. She does have lucid moments but it is hard for her to engage in a conversation. She gets stuck on one track and stays with it for the day.
    I can see the effect kindness and compassion have on her. When I put her to bed at night or help her with her personal hygiene she says over and over, “Bless you.” I am blessed to be able to spend quality time with her, even though many words aren’t being shared. We do share hearts. ❤

Leave a Reply

