We Are More Than Our Scars

scars

“I am more than my scars.”
― Andrew Davidson

Having traveled this breast cancer journey for 14 years, I have learned a lot about myself and others.  I love the quote above for in it I find fortitude even in my darkest hours.  My scars bear witness to the horrors I’ve endured.  My body, mind and soul, along with my heart, have been ravaged and yet I still am here, cancer free.  True, my physical appearance has changed.  Some may not find me attractive and that’s ok for me.  For I feel as if the light that has brought me through the toughest of times, still burns brightly inside my heart.  Though I have aged, my heart is filled with light, hope, positivity and love for which I am truly grateful.  My soul shines, my challenges have changed me, making me stronger, more self-assured and not so frightened anymore.

I allow others to be whom they choose without resentment nor anger.  It does not serve me.  I still speak my truth with kindness.  I am finding the me that was lost on this journey.  Growing confidence with every step of independence and connecting with others as we walk each other home towards our end.  Scars may damage us.  However, when you change the way you see them, you remember that they simply show how strong we are to have braved atrocities to our physical bodies.  Wear them proudly, a badge of honor that you have been able to dig deep inside to grow, to learn, to be tested and to surpass the expectations of ourselves and others.

It is not easy to become accepting of our scars, whether others can see them or not.  In such a physical world where first we are judged by our looks, it is often disappointing to not be seen for whom our souls are and be found worthy.  To be seen, but not heard is a challenge that we must overcome.  And it starts with you.

Compassion for ourselves is the first step.  To love ourselves, scars and all.  To treat ourselves with loving kindness and to embrace self-love so that others may see our loving selves.  To look at others with the same loving eyes is the next step.  To see the good in every single person.  To forgive ourselves and others for what has trespassed and to empathize with our good hearts and find the goodness in each soul with whom we come into contact.  To forgive what we deem unforgivable and to move onwards and upwards towards the light in life.

Some scars do not show on the physical body.  We hide them in our hearts, minds and souls.  Past hurts and regressions can tear at our core selves, shredding even the strongest souls, breaking hearts, belief systems and our self-esteem.  Rebuilding, baby step by baby step, requires the heart, mind and soul to open with trembling vulnerability to find a new normal.  We need to embrace the changes that scarred us and empty our beings of regret.  Stand in our power and release what no longer serves us.  To take the scars which broke us and heal ourselves and others.  To love even those who scarred us.  To observe their scars and see within their hearts that they are broken as well.  To embrace a compassionate life and shine our little heartlights filled with love.

So as you go about your day today, smile.  Be the loving energy that I know you are and embrace your loving heartlight so that you shine from within, thus brightening your world and connecting your light to others.  You never know how a simple smile, a kind word and a loving embrace can change you and others.

Embrace your scars, love yourself and let love be your guide as you go about your day.

Shine On!

xo

21 thoughts on “We Are More Than Our Scars

  1. This is an important concept to share. It’s more powerful coming from someone such as you, who can speak with authority, but it’s something everyone should think about.

  2. Yvonne,
    A wonderful post. Trials born well can be an encouragement and saving grace to those observers who are in need of an example. Inspiring words do not carry the weight of the act.

    When the world tests God’s patience, Jesus stays His Hand, by showing His scars and saying:”See how much I love them.”
    -Alan

  3. Such a beautiful post. I sit in awe of your courage and your strength and I am inspired by the light you shine. We are indeed stronger for our scars, and the path to appreciating that strength is self compassion. I love your invitation to self-love and other-love. Truly beautiful.

  4. I am grateful for your courage and your willingness to take the less traveled road home to Self and Source. I applaud you for the insight you have shared in this post. Thank you for being so inspiring and so truthful. ❤

  5. Yvonne I don’t even know you but through your words and the challenges you have faced. I see you and your light shines ever so bright. Such a beautiful soul you are. Thanks for reminding me to be kind to me and have compassion for others.

    • Thank you for inspiring all of us with your blog as well ~ isn’t it amazing how we have all connected and felt a kinship towards others through blogging? I just love that about our beautiful world! Thank you so much for being here with me. ♥

Leave a Reply

