A Simple Smile Can…

smile

“We shall never know all the good

that a simple smile can do.”

-Mother Teresa

It’s the little things that mean so much to me.  They are what I search for when I am sad and what I am grateful for when I need a hug and there’s nobody around.  I walk around the grocery store and smile.  It’s funny how people react to you when you smile at them.  Some look away, some return your smile.  Some ignore you (probably think I’m crazy) and some utter ‘hello’ and keep on walking.  I don’t do it to everyone so that they think I am stalking them.  Oh no…I only smile to the ones who I feel need a gentle smile in their lives.  You can see it when you look at them.  Heck, I bet you’d see it if you saw me walking quietly through the store alone, contemplating what’s for dinner.

A kind word, a gentle smile, a hug from someone who supports and loves you ~ these are the small reminders to those of us who are hurting that we are here, we matter, someone cares and we are loved (or at least liked).  We are worthy, we are seen, someone has noticed us and takes the extra moment to check to see how we are, to show they care.

It doesn’t take too much effort on your part to do this for someone else.  It doesn’t deplete your energy, it actually doubles it for what you give out comes back to you.  When you smile at someone and they smile back, you get an extra smile.  When you hug another person, not only are you giving out love in an embrace, you are receiving love in an embrace.  In my calculations, doesn’t that double the love?

Friendships are cherished relationships filled with understanding, support and love.  I am blessed to have many different friends and I include all of my readers and blogging friends in this category as well.  I am grateful to all of you for your support in reading my blog, for the ♥ and smiles and xo’s that I’ve received.  You know I am always your biggest fan and I feel your support as well.

So today, even though we can’t see each other, know that I am smiling at you, I reach out my hand to touch yours and I hold you in my arms in friendship.  You are worthy.  You are loved.

Smile

Shine On!

xo

 

23 thoughts on “A Simple Smile Can…

  1. I am sending you lots of smiles and lots of comfort and lots of Love too! ❤ 🙂 ❤ 🙂 ❤ You are so brave and strong and beautiful! I am cheering you on!! ❤ 🙂

  2. It’s a funny thing about a smile. When you are smiling at someone, the smile affects you too. It can be contagious from the outside in. When someone asks “how are you” I always say, “great and getting better.” Guess what, It’s finally true. I used to say “hanging in there” and I meant by my fingernails. When I look at all the good in my life, the hard parts are a little less notable. I’m a smile spreader too only sometimes you can’t tell I’m smiling as only half my face smiles. 😉 Even that is getting better. Keep smiling.

  3. Smiling from ear to ear at you my precious friend!! I know your life has been filled with speed bumps…just know that you will get through all of this!! You are so strong and so full of love!! ❤ ❤

  4. One of my most favorite songs —–
    Smile, though your heart is aching..
    Smile, even though it’s breaking
    When there are clouds in the sky, you’ll get by
    If you smile through your fear and sorrow
    Smile and may be tomorrow,
    You’ll see the sun come shining through…for you
    Light up your face with gladness
    Hide every trace of sadness
    Although a tear, may be ever so near
    That’s the time you must keep on trying
    Smile, what’s the use of crying
    You’ll find that life is still worthwhile
    If you just SMILE
    XOXO Dear One!!

  5. And thank you Yvonne for for attention and thoughts you’ve imparted on my blog. It seems like you’ve been having some tough times, and I’m hoping this blog post is an indication that your burden might be lessening a bit.

    At the end of the month, I’m going to be closing jmchristensen.wordpress.com and leaving the blogosphere. I need to focus on the here and now, so it’s time to move on from my blog.

    I’m glad to have connected with you, and may you have the best of luck in your journey.

    Jack

Leave a Reply

