Solitude

solitude1Solitude

By Ella Wheeler Wilcox  

Laugh, and the world laughs with you;
Weep, and you weep alone;
For the sad old earth must borrow its mirth,
But has trouble enough of its own.
Sing, and the hills will answer;
Sigh, it is lost on the air;
The echoes bound to a joyful sound,
But shrink from voicing care.

Rejoice, and men will seek you;
Grieve, and they turn and go;
They want full measure of all your pleasure,
But they do not need your woe.
Be glad, and your friends are many;
Be sad, and you lose them all,
There are none to decline your nectared wine,
But alone you must drink life’s gall.

Feast, and your halls are crowded;
Fast, and the world goes by.
Succeed and give, and it helps you live,
But no man can help you die.
There is room in the halls of pleasure
For a large and lordly train,
But one by one we must all file on
Through the narrow aisles of pain.

I found this poem today and thought it may ring a bell for some of you as the first few lines are known to many.  I’ve been reading a lot of poetry these days and writing it as well.  It is amazing to find such solace in the words of others.  Do you feel the warmth of human connection in the poem above ~ the commonality of man?

What is your favorite poem?  Do you write poetry?

Shine On!

xo

11 thoughts on “Solitude

  1. I enjoy Coleridge. I memorized the first few stanzas of Kubla Khan in high school, and I still remember it. Robert Burns is a favorite too. I actually found an old poem I wrote amongst my mother’s things when I was cleaning out her house this weekend. It was called “The Fool”. Pretty ironic.
    Great post. Lovely Poem.

      • At first, I didnt recognize it as one of mine! When it dawned on me that I had written it in the early 80’s, it made me smile. Thanks for your prayers, peace is filling in very sweetly in my life. I hope that you are being wrapped up in peace and light as you travel forward into something beautiful.

  2. Good morning! I have always loved “Nothing Gold Can Stay” by Robert Frost…the first poem I ever memorized 😊 And one of my most favorites is Sonnet 17 by Pablo Neruda…haunting and simply beautiful…I use to love to write when I was younger…thanks for this post! 💕💕

  3. Yvonne, yes, I feel the humanity. And, I hope you know that in your dark moments, we are here with you. Your heart shines through in the lightness and the darkness – and connects us to you. Keep reaching, opening, exploring the pull…

    • Vicki, I am truly grateful for our connection. It lifts me up to have such spiritual, supportive friends and you are one whom I really appreciate. You understand the BC etc and you are just a joyous soul! Thanks for being you, for reaching out to me and for helping me to keep my love light burning. xo

Leave a Reply

