Perfectly Imperfect

perfectlyimperfectsnow

“Perfectly Imperfect”

Below is an excerpt from Steve Maraboli’s book entitled ‘Life, the Truth, and Being Free’ which I recently found which has helped me to understand the life changes I am enduring.  Although I haven’t read the book, I found this tidbit to be comforting in my journey.  Perhaps you will find a nugget of understanding here too.

Shine On!

xo

 We have all heard that no two snowflakes are alike. Each snowflake takes the perfect form for the maximum efficiency and effectiveness for its journey. And while the universal force of gravity gives them a shared destination, the expansive space in the air gives each snowflake the opportunity to take their own path. They are on the same journey, but each takes a different path.
Along this gravity-driven journey, some snowflakes collide and damage each other, some collide and join together, some are influenced by wind… there are so many transitions and changes that take place along the journey of the snowflake. But, no matter what the transition, the snowflake always finds itself perfectly shaped for its journey.
I find parallels in nature to be a beautiful reflection of grand orchestration. One of these parallels is of snowflakes and us. We, too, are all headed in the same direction. We are being driven by a universal force to the same destination. We are all individuals taking different journeys and along our journey, we sometimes bump into each other, we cross paths, we become altered… we take different physical forms. But at all times we too are 100% perfectly imperfect. At every given moment we are absolutely perfect for what is required for our journey. I’m not perfect for your journey and you’re not perfect for my journey, but I’m perfect for my journey and you’re perfect for your journey. We’re heading to the same place, we’re taking different routes, but we’re both exactly perfect the way we are.
Think of what understanding this great orchestration could mean for relationships. Imagine interacting with others knowing that they too each share this parallel with the snowflake. Like you, they are headed to the same place and no matter what they may appear like to you, they have taken the perfect form for their journey. How strong our relationships would be if we could see and respect that we are all perfectly imperfect for our journey.”

~ Steve Maraboli from Life, the Truth, and Being Free

24 thoughts on “Perfectly Imperfect

  1. I love this!! 🙂 and its funny, my first published poem was about the uniqness of snowflakes! I was only 11, and it was in the newspaper 🙂 This post made me think of that poem 🙂 I love snowflakes and what they teach us about life ❤ ❤ ❤

  2. I love these thoughts about “perfect imperfections”… they are so wise! I hope the “life changes you are enduring” are not too cruel dear Yvonne, and that you are well… much love to you, and thank you for sharing such smoothing thoughts of wisdom :-)♥

    • Frederic, I choose to see them as opportunities now as anger, resentment and hurt don’t serve me anymore. It’s strange how one can find a bit of calm in sharing and loving whatever is here at the moment. It’s not easy, but I can endure this as well. Thank you for your support and kind friendship. It is so appreciated. ♥

  3. Beautiful message and underneath the imperfections of our physical body is a perfect soul, when unleashed, it returns to perfection and arrives home. Altered from its long or short journey on this earth.

  4. Thanks for sharing the except and Steve’s wonderful insight.
    Beneath differences there is shared means of being. For the snow flake, all the varieties of design and effects of movement would not be, if not for the mystical power behind the joining of two hydrogen atoms to one oxygen atom and an air temperature below 32 degrees Fahrenheit.
    What is true of a snowflake, is true of us. None of our eccentricities would be known, as well, if it were not for that same mystical power which brings each of us into being.
    -Alan

  5. I’ve used the snowflake analogy many times but never with as much grace or as articulately as this was written. Thanks for sharing. I posted a Christmas card I sent out many years ago saying something like God had created so many kinds of people, why would he make only one way to to serve him. It summed up the idea that we are all going in the same direction on different paths. I have finally come to embrace my imperfections. They are important to making me perfect for my work here. I’ll have to go back and read more of his work. Thanks for sharing it.

    • Thank you for your amazing comment ~ I love the idea of a Christmas card w/snowflake analogy! How clever you are! I am glad you have embraced your imperfections. I think it’s high time we all do that and rejoice in our findings and connections with one another! ♥

Leave a Reply

