I’ve met some soul mates…

soulmate

“People think a soul mate is your perfect fit, and that’s what everyone wants. But a true soul mate is a mirror, the person who shows you everything that is holding you back, the person who brings you to your own attention so you can change your life… A true soul mate is probably the most important person you’ll ever meet, because they tear down your walls and smack you awake. But to live with a soul mate forever? Nah. Too painful. Soul mates, they come into your life just to reveal another layer of yourself to you, and then leave.

A soul mates purpose is to shake you up, tear apart your ego a little bit, show you your obstacles and addictions, break your heart open so new light can get in, make you so desperate and out of control that you have to transform your life, then introduce you to your spiritual master…”  ~ Elizabeth Gilbert, Eat, Pray, Love

I liked this and I am including the quote in its entirety for I hope that it will resonate for you as well.  I want to HEARTily thank my soul mates (you know who you are ~ at least I hope you do) for changing my life for the better.  For showing me the path I resist and for taking my hand when I fall down.

I am blessed to have the gift of a few soul mates who change my life simply by being themselves.  I am truly grateful for all of you.

Shine On!

xo

36 thoughts on “I’ve met some soul mates…

  1. Great and thoughtful quotes Yvonne! As Val said, I like this different perspective, the idea a soulmate is like a mirror… and I think it’s true! Thanks for sharing & much love to you :-)♥

  2. It’s true Yvonne, every connection holds life gifts. Some are short lived and explosive, but look where they blast us too!! Great reminder…thank you. ❤

  3. I loved how E.G. wrote this. It was insightful. I no longer look for A soul mate. I realize that whoever passes through my space has a reason to be there. Either it’s to teach me or to learn from me. Some lessons are lovely, some, not so much. I learned so much from both ex-husbands and left them with love in my heart for them. They weren’t bad people, I just needed to move on and so did they. I like the philosophy of this version of soul mate. It really frees us from the illusion.

Leave a Reply

