Can you see it?

moss

  Everything has beauty, but not everyone can see. –Confucius

This is an old tree in Savannah, Georgia, draped with Spanish moss.  To many, it might not be pretty, but to me, it is exquisite.  I guess that’s just the way I see things ~ do you see things that way too?  Do you delight in the mundane ~ finding beauty in what most people would consider ordinary?  I feel that it’s a gift I’ve been given to see the world in this way and I am blessed to find many companions through blogging who feel the same way.  Sometimes I feel as if we are expanding our circle of connections exponentially daily which delights me.  The simple words, “I understand” bring great comfort and connection.  Just like when we can ‘see’ the beauty in each other and all around us.

Thank you for allowing me to touch your Saturday with my blog.  I truly hope you feel the loving embrace of the Universe surrounding you in all that you do today and always.  May you find peace within and about you.  May you err on the side of kindness and may your smile brighten many lives today and always.  You are truly a gift.  I can see your beauty.  Can you?

Shine On!

xo

24 thoughts on “Can you see it?

  1. Yes, I see it too!! 🙂 Sometimes I even see things that other people literally cannot see. When I was little, about 6 or 7 I used to play with the gnomes and the fairies in the forest. I would make houses and bridges and all kind of things for them, even collect wood and moss for them to make comfortable bonfire nights with. One day, when I was on my way to school, I saw a gnome hurrying back into his house just as I passed by. I was so excited!! I ran to school and told my teacher and all my class mates. The teacher made me draw the gnome on the blackboard, and I did 🙂 And the funny thing is, when I look back at that in my memories, I stil remember seeing that gnome quite clearly! I mean, I don’t really tell people about this (ooops I just did!! ) because I am all grown up now, and I am not supposed to believe in gnomes, but I can’t unremember something. 🙂

    About my own beauty….I think I see my own beauty when I do nice things for others, and then when they smile and look happier for what I did, then I see my own beauty reflected back to me in their eyes 🙂 That is I what I meant when I wrote that poem on my blog about lighting someone else’s lamp to see your own light reflected back at you 🙂 I think one moment in my life that particularly stands out, is this: some years ago I was working with young girls with eating dissorders, I loved working with them! We had all kind of talks and I made up different projects for them, to help them find their true self and to heal and feel beautiful again. We shed so many tears together, and we touched each other’s lives profoundly! When this group was over, I mean, when they girls moved on, they told me in a teary (we all cried) goodbye that I should be Miss Universe. Now, these girls did not talk about my appearance at all, in that way I am not Miss Universe material, and I do not care to be, but what they meant was that they wished they had more role models, girls and women to look up to, who cared about self-worth, self love, inner beauty, and so on, that is what they thought was important to focus on in life, and those were the qualties they felt truly made you beautiful and worthy of the title Miss Universe. In that moment I really felt my Light, which is what really makes us beautiful, reflected back to me form the eyes of those beautiful loving teenag girls 🙂 ❤ ❤ ❤ Wishing you a lovely lovely day ahead!! 🙂 Big hugs to you! 🙂

    • I am so grateful to you for your comment above and for sharing so much of yourself with me. I appreciate you Trini and I too, think you are beautiful, inside and out. Your warmth, your loving self shines a beacon of hope out to all who are touched by you. Thanks for being you. ♥ Big hugs and much love to you! You are Miss Universe ~ I HEARTily agree! ♥♥♥

  2. OH, yes, I see it. ALL things created in their own right, are beautiful. When we step out of the box that holds all the definitions of what is pretty, and what is not, we SEE beauty all around us. I see grace and gentleness in this tree. I see how She has surrendered peacefully to Her surroundings, and standing tall and strong, proud of who She is. She is a Teacher for human-kind to remember that no matter the color, shape or size, we ALL are beautiful! Thank you for this post. Bless you!!! Love, Amy

  3. Sorry, I failed to take photos of the beautiful Spanish Moss many of the trees on my last visit to Savannah. There is a small bit of moss hanging from a tree in my Florida backyard, I will check with my neighbor who knows everything about anything that grows fro the ground, if I have been gifted with Spanish Moss. As always, thank you for your inspirational and uplifting words.

  4. So true!!! Beauty is everywhere and just, and we must be “clever” and “sensible” enough to appreciate and reveal it. Thank you Yvonne for this beautiful and profound quote.

Leave a Reply

