Thursday Thought for the Day

lamaThe Dalai Lama, when asked what surprised him most about humanity, answered, “Man.  Because he sacrifices his health in order to make money.  Then he sacrifices money to recuperate his health.  And then he is so anxious about the future that he does not enjoy the present; the result being that he does not live in the present or the future; he lives as if he is never going to die, and then dies having never really lived.”

JAngel sent this to me this morning and I thought it was such a great one to share.  I am sorry I don’t know whom to give the credit for the photo.  But I’d love to know if it resonated with you like it did with me today!

Shine On!

xo

13 thoughts on “Thursday Thought for the Day

  1. I love the Dalai Lama! I met him once, I mean, I went to hear one of his speeches here in India, and the meeting place was quite small, so I could see him really close up, it was amazing! He is so wise! He talked about how there should be balance between mind and heart, that none of them should get to fully dominate the other. I loved this quote too! He understands humanity so well! He is deeply spiritual, but at the same time, he is modern, I mean, he understands the modern world, and he does not just talk from a monk’s persepctive, all cryptic and mysterious, he understands psychology and sociology, and he talks out of that understanding. He is amazing! 🙂 Thanks for sharing Yvonne! 🙂

  2. Love this quote!!! I would rather down-size and have a BIGGER life. Less things…more time…more memories! Xo

  3. Pingback: Enjoy Life | Naples Girl Blog

Leave a Reply

