Best Laid Plans…Turn to Gratitude

61874428_

The best laid schemes of mice and (wo)men

Well, it was bound to happen one day.  My birthday plans went awry yesterday as I got sick the night before and was sick all day on my birthday.  That’s why nobody heard from me ~ why I never even turned on my computer.  As Robert Burns reminded us back in 1786, the most carefully prepared plans may go wrong.*

But in going wrong, I was given a gift that I didn’t ask for, didn’t think I needed and for which I am now grateful.  I was given a day of rest, of healing and of gratitude.  By being forced to spend the day alone, I had plenty of time to reflect on life and count my blessings.  Sure, I count my blessings everyday, don’t you?  But I mean really count my blessings, count the blessings for the little things that we take for granted (like being able to eat), for a warm, loving home and for friends and family who care.

I won’t lie, at first I was lamenting my lack of birthday festivities, but then, when I allowed my life to flow and to unfold as it wanted, I came upon a knowing, a feeling of presence which was a present to me.  I relaxed into the day, taking the time to heal myself (which only time could help as the virus had to run its course) and acknowledging that I had to once again, give up control, let go, allow God/Universe/Spirit to guide me.

It wasn’t easy.  I had plans you know for my special day.  But now I guess my birthday will have to be celebrated on another day this week, or maybe I can eek out a little bit of birthday mirth everyday!  Oh! What an idea ~ what if I spent 10 minutes a day in birthday gratitude for the next year!  What if we celebrated our birthdays all year long!  Imagine, celebrating your life and having everyone else celebrating YOU everyday ~ and YOU celebrating everyone else everyday!

Now how’s that for a great Holiday?

My heartfelt gratitude to all of you for being here with me ~ I celebrate YOU!

Shine On!

xo

*Origin: From Robert Burns’ poem To a Mouse, 1786. It tells of how he, while ploughing a field, upturned a mouse’s nest. The resulting poem is an apology to the mouse:


But, Mousie, thou art no thy lane [you aren’t alone]
In proving foresight may be vain:
The best laid schemes o’ mice an’ men
Gang aft a-gley, [often go awry]
An’ lea’e us nought but grief an’ pain,
For promised joy.

33 thoughts on “Best Laid Plans…Turn to Gratitude

  1. I am sorry you did not get to celebrate like you wanted, but I say, what a splendid way to celebrate: In gratitude! That is wonderful!! 🙂 I think we all have a lot to be grateful for! I am grateful for my faith, my joy, my imagination, my creativity and me child-like excitement 🙂 But most of all I am grateful for my soul! and oh yes, for my beautiful guardian angel! I think I am grateful for so many things that this comment would turn into one of those endless Thank-you-speeches from the Oscar’s. So then let me end this by saying, I am grateful for you Yvonne, and for your blog! Your presents from the presents of the presence is presenting me with joy and Light every day! Happy happy belated Birthday lovely Yvonne!

  2. You can just celebrate your birthday all week now. Disappointing, yes—but you used the time really well and came away with some great take aways!!! Happy Birthday!

  3. I am not surprised you were able to find the light in the dark. This is a lovely post Yvonne. Birthday hugs and heartfelt wishes you are feeling better and during today’s moments of celebrating life, give a thought to the love coming your way, from every direction.

  4. Thank you for your thought-provoking post, and for sharing what you went through, the gratitude you came to, and the rest of the poem. I’d heard the more famous part of the poem, but not the rest.
    Russ

  5. Oh, I’m sorry to hear you were sick. But this is just an opportunity to extend the celebration. I love the idea of enjoying birthdays over a week or even longer. Make the goodness last. Happy birthday, and I hope you’re on the mend!

    Hugs from Ecuador,
    Kathy

  6. Happy Birthday..and a little surprise gift – we are both March babes..what good company I am in! I bet we are both little fish too! 🙂 I love how you turned your day around and found the path to gratitude in the midst of feeling icky. Yes! Celebrate for days on end…and beyond. You are worth it. xo

  7. Happy Birthday!! I’m a March person, too ….. 🙂 Birthdays actually make me melancholy. You know, time passing so quickly and all of that. But I always gain SO MUCH from your posts. I love how you talked about allowing life to unfold as it wanted. I so believe that philosophy … “allow” and not fight it. Thanks again for sharing your thoughts. And Happy Birthday-Week! 🙂

  8. So relieved you’re feeling better., and so impressed (but not surprised) that your found the silver lining in being sick on your birthday. You are such an inspiration!!!!

Leave a Reply

