What we don’t say…

20131121-001631

Nothing haunts us like the things we don’t say

One of my favorite bloggers click here to visit MichelleMarie posted this the other day and it’s been haunting me ever since because it touched my heart.  Perhaps it’s because we are coming up on the 2nd Thanksgiving holiday since my Dad passed.  There are lots of things that were left unsaid between us.  At first when he passed, I was sad, then I was angry, then I told him a thing or two in my mind to his spirit wherever it may be.  And now I’ve found peace ~ and gratitude ~ just in time for Thanksgiving.

But I don’t want you to be haunted like I was ~ so I would love for you to take the above advice to heart.

This Thanksgiving, take a moment to be grateful for all of the people in your life for they are all here for a reason.  Take the time to reach out to tell them how much they mean to you.   Perhaps you could even write a gratitude list for yourself.  You could write a gratitude letter to them thanking them for all they have done for you.  Yesterday I told you about how grateful I was to receive those 2 cards in the mail from Julia ~ imagine your family’s delight at hearing how they make a difference in your life!

Shine On!

xo

23 thoughts on “What we don’t say…

  1. I enjoyed your post and am glad that on your spiritual journey regarding your father you find yourself at peace and in gratitude, Misifusa! May you often find yourself there, my friend.
    Russ

  2. OH this is beautiful. I had no idea that quote stuck with you. It’s true though. I was having one of those moments as well. This Thanksgiving is my second one as well without my Pa. We are always filled with so many emotions when we lose someone then the holidays do bring on a mixture of feelings. I love that you have chosen to be thankful and gracious and pay it forward. This is awesome! Hugs to you sweet friend!

  3. Thank you for sharing this. That is such a nice idea to reach out to people and let them know how much you appreciate them. I lost someone this year, who was like a mother figure to me. I think she knew she had been an inspiration in my life, but I really wish I had taken the chance to tell her more, to make sure she really knew how much of an impact she had. I am so glad that you have found peace, and gratitude, now. I hope you have a lovely Thanksgiving.

  4. I am a huge fan of saying what I feel when I feel it. That counts saying thank you to folks and telling them how much they mean to me. I love you at the end of every phone call, a hug and a smile. They are all important and the time to say them in not tomorrow but today. Great post —I love it!!!

Leave a Reply

