Welcome Home

45253666_45253667_

I had the most amazing treat last night.  In fact, I still get teary when I remember what happened.  The reason I’m posting this is because I think it happens more often in families than we admit.  Awhile back, I shared that we’d lost touch with part of our family here and then I told you the follow up which was my ‘older sister cousin’ responded to my sympathy card on the passing of her Mom who was a favorite childhood Aunt here.  But I never heard back from my ‘older brother cousin’ at that point.

And then he called.

We finally met face to face last night.  My sister Sissy, our beloved cousin (Cuz) and I shared almost 5 hours together.  We talked non-stop, with brief moments of quiet which were sprinkled with a few tears and much regret at having allowed 13 years to have passed us by without any communication between us.

I met him at the boat from NYC which he had taken to see us.  Upon seeing him, I ran into his arms and we hugged ~ all the past baggage dropped away and we were just in the moment together.  Connected by our childhood friendship/relationship, my heart swelled in gratitude for this reunion.  It was so long in coming.

I took him to a scenic point where we visited a historic monument, my nod to his father (my Uncle) and my Dad who would have first thing, stopped at the same place for both loved history.  As we walked the grounds, we chatted about our parents and various memories we had of each of our dads.  I wanted us to have a common ground to start our reunion.  And I wanted those above in Heaven to know that we still remember them, we still hold those cherished, happy moments in our hearts.

We went to Sissy’s house, he was able to meet her children, her hubby (mine weren’t able to come) and then the three of us set out to dinner.  Several times, I was reminded of how blessed we are to be able to drop the baggage and just be in the moment.  We laughed, we cried, we reminisced.  We regaled each other with stories, tried to catch up on 13 years in the window of 5 hours.

Above all, we reconnected.  We secured the bonds of family again.  We were given the opportunity to tell each other how much we cared, how much we loved and how much each of us meant to the other.

Priceless.  Magical.  Special.

My heart swells with gratitude for the time we shared.  I believe that it’s in these special, present moments that we gain the gift of understanding ~ that when all of this ‘stuff’ in life is gone, we are just souls who connect, who love and who appreciate the gifts given and received.

Thanks for reading today.

Shine On!

xo

P.S. Yes, the above card is what I’m sending to him today!  Isn’t it perfect?  ♥

28 thoughts on “Welcome Home

  1. Your story makes my heart sing. There is something about family and good friends that dismisses years as moments. I’m so glad that you reconnected with your family! I’m touched by your story.

  2. Lovely story …. love the small images too – so happy over that you found your way back to each other. I don’t have any family left … but I have met up with some friends this year that I haven’t seen for about up to 25-30 years and it was like we hadn’t been separated – that is bond and friendship.

  3. The love that you and sissy have given my hubby has been overwhelming and truly life changing. Than you from the bottome of my heart. MHF

Leave a Reply

