Daily Prompt ~ Help!

image16

Your illness does NOT define you.  Your strength and courage DOES.

Helen posted this on her blog the other day and I just had to share it.  Stop by to visit Helen by clicking here!  For you see, anyone with any illness can benefit from these sage words.  It matters not if you have battled breast cancer or not.  It goes for all illnesses, cancers and I believe, even traumatic life experiences.

Your courage defines you.

Your inner strength defines you.

Your decision to survive defines you.

And then sharing your experiences, whether good or bad, in order to help others who are in the throes of the illness, that vulnerability shows extensive courage.  Don’t you think?  For to exhibit weakness is to exhibit strength.  When I show how weakened I was by my breast cancer surgeries, chemotherapy, radiation and the multitude of restless nights filled with worry, when I share how I battled against the odds and I open up to you in order that you may know that we are connected, that you are not alone.  I don’t find that to show my weakness, but in fact, it shows my strength for I am still here, still human, still humbled by what I’ve endured.  I take nothing for granted now.  I am learning to rely on my inner strength to flourish in my life.  I let go of the expectations of others (ok, I’m still working on this one) and I am allowing the freedom to be myself and not conform to what others expectations are of me.  For they’ve not endured my experiences even though some of them may believe that because they have been nearby during my illness that they understand.  But alas, they truly do not.  But you, who have walked in these shoes yourself, you understand and it is to you that I reach out.

Even though I have battled this alone, I am here for you.  Sometimes it is only through connecting with another person who has endured what we have, that we can truly heal and truly understand what we have endured.  I was/am blessed to have many who have helped me along the way.  I only hope to help you as well.

Be courageous.

Be strong.

Connect with others.

Shine On!

xo

Just as I was going to press PUBLISH, I saw the Daily Prompt.  If I could completely devote myself to connecting with others to help them on their journey through illness, I would do it in a second!  So that’s why I added the daily prompt to my otherwise Pink Post!  If anyone knows how I could get someone to take care of my daily responsibilities in order to do this full time with an income, let me know! 🙂 ♥♥♥

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/09/03/daily-prompt-help/

Daily Prompt: Blogger With a Cause

If your day to day responsibilities were taken care of and you could throw yourself completely behind a cause, what would it be?

11 thoughts on “Daily Prompt ~ Help!

  1. Pingback: We are all in this together: Daily Prompt | alienorajt

  2. So well said… We are never alone when we share our journeys and at times it takes courage to be able to share…. Stay strong….these words resonated as soon as I saw them so thank you for sharing them … Xx

  3. How true. No matter what the experience it is always of more value to connect with someone who has walked in your shoes. Great post.
    I have a sister and four first cousins who have up to now anyway beaten breast cancer. I wish you well.

  4. Its all part of life, isn’t it, suffering, coming through it, sharing and helping others. I’m so glad that you’re able to help others and share your experiences.

Leave a Reply

