Do You Get the Space You Need?

11480_

Summer’s winding down, school’s beginning soon (some have already returned) and hopefully a little bit of routine will return to my household.  Not that I’m complaining at all because personally speaking, I adore summer and having my kids home with me!  The relaxing enjoyment of a non-scheduled life is precious to me and I love being able to share that with my family.  It just makes the Presents of Presence so much more alive when we can just enjoy each other’s company and not be living by the clock all the time.

But as much as I adore this freedom and the amazing connections we make during the summer season, there’s a part of me which longs for a few hours alone.  It’s an innate need which I have ~ it’s almost like breathing for me and after a full summer season, that hunger for some alone time increases to a fever pitch inside of me.  It’s not that I don’t love being with my family, but I find that I am a better person, wife, mom when I get a little downtime ~ a little quiet in order to feed my soul.  I get up early in the mornings to squeeze in a few minutes of alone time, but it’s not quite cutting it by now that the summer’s winding down.  I need more than an hour at dawn.

Am I the only one who feels this way?  Please tell me that I’m not alone!  I feel that I need that breath of alone time to function.  I’m not an introvert per se, but I do enjoy my alone time where I can just be with my thoughts, feelings and myself.  It’s not that don’t love being with others, because I adore connecting, but I also enjoy being with me, myself and I.

I read a blog post today from LouAnn at On the Homefront and Beyond  which was a reblog ~ and then I saw that David over at  Lead.Learn.Live  reblogged the same post!  I was talking with a dear friend this morning and telling her about the post and how I wanted to blog it as well, but hesitated since it had already been reblogged twice today!  But she convinced me that perhaps the message bears repeating!  So here I am!

Video:The Space We Need: An Introvert Wakes Up, Slows Down and Starts Living According to Her True Nature.

Thank you Brenda for your great video and post!  I am so glad we’ve connected! 

Keep Shining!

xo

19 thoughts on “Do You Get the Space You Need?

  1. Of course you know I am a big fan of going within 🙂
    May you find space to go within ♡ – a little more.
    We’re getting our routines figured out over here.
    Blessings –
    L

  2. I’m so honored you re-blogged my post despite the previous re-bloggings. I adore David Kanigan’s site and was fortunate enough to make Lou Ann’s awesome acquaintance today.
    It’s interesting that you mention you are not an introvert. I know that we all need space in our lives to breathe. We need space to connect deeply with ourselves AND with others.

  3. There’s a time to mingle & a time to be single. And – I don’t mean marital status. Time for oneself is sometimes what we need – just as much as we need time with others 🙂

  4. Good video. Busy people just don’t WANT to process their experiences, because that can be difficult. Sometimes what we find when we’re quiet is disturbing. I think the ‘introverts’ are normal. The extroverts are hiding from something. BTW, don’t keep apologizing for wanting time alone. You did it three times in this post. It shows you are healthy and willing to see who you are at the deepest level. I love your posts, and you wouldn’t be here if you weren’t reflective. I want more!

    • Yaz, I”m smiling from ear to ear because even though we recently met via blogs, we’re connecting heart to heart and I love connecting with others! You are right. Thanks for calling me on the sorrys ~ and thanks for your special encouragement. It means so much to me. xo

  5. I really enjoyed this video! I have felt this way all my life. Solitude is the greatest gift one can give themselves. I cherish my alone time…I need to reflect, recharge, release….and in that space I am able to find ME. The older and wiser I become I realize that there is no need to apologize or explain my absences….it’s a God-given retreat to spend time with yourself! Xo

Leave a Reply

