Freshening Hopes

75036119_

“I want to do the right thing, but often I don’t know just what the right thing is. Every day I know I have come short of what I would like to have done. Yet as the years pass and I see the very world itself with its oceans and mountains and plains as something unfinished, a peculiar little satisfaction hunts out the corners of my heart. Sunsets and evening shadows find me regretful at tasks undone, but sleep and the dawn and the air of the morning touch me with freshening hopes.”
—Carl Sandburg

I love mornings.  I’ve told you before, but there is something about the dawn of a new day, fresh like a new school year in September that makes my heart leap with possibility.  To me, it’s a siren’s song of freshening hopes and dreams.  This quote happened to fit perfectly with me today.  I’ve got more testing on the horizon so I’ve been feeling pretty bleak these days.  But the coolness of the morning today perked me right up.  I feel grateful to be alive.

I went outside with my coffee in hand, felt the dew tickling my toes, looked up to the sky and took a moment (more actually!) to be grateful for the present of presence.  The stillness of the morning with the sweet chirping of birds intersected the silence.  It was wondrous and something I highly recommend for you to do!

May your hopes be freshened today!

You are here!

You are alive!

Shine On!

xo

The quote above is taken from my blogger pal Paul over at Goal Habits  today. With the help of my Send Out Cards account I was able to make his quote of the day into a picture which I liked.  I love how we all find inspiration daily from eachother!  Thank you Paul for inspiring me daily with your quotes!  Make sure you stop by Goal Habits and be inspired!

15 thoughts on “Freshening Hopes

  1. I love how the inspiration things works around here too. I think that is how it is supposed to be..instead of how it often is in the “real world.”
    You almost inspired me to like mornings…I am so not a morning person – but who knows?? Never say never. 🙂 We’ve been doing pretty good getting up for school. My daughter woke up smiling and singing this morning.
    Love –
    L

Leave a Reply

