Pink Post ~ Aloha

7658577_

Aloha means, “To consciously manifest life joyously in the present.”

I looked up the meaning of Aloha today and it was here  that I found the above meaning.  The meaning suits and is a lovely way to start every morning.  Simply speaking the word “Aloha” seems to roll off the tongue with a special sparkle, don’t you think?  Perhaps it’s because it conjures up thoughts of Hawaii to me even though I’ve not yet been there (but it’s on my bucket list!).   Have you been there yet yourself?  Is it as beautiful as I imagine?  It’s a dream of mine to go ~ one always must have a dream!

I’ve added the Pink Post title as well today, but truthfully I try to write so anyone can relate ~ anyone who has had difficulties in life.  I am a bit scattered this morning, so please forgive me if my musings aren’t organized too well.

I’ve met 2 women recently who’ve been diagnosed with breast cancer and it reminds me of my past.  As each wrestles with the turmoil of uncertainty. fear and the unknown, I feel such empathy for I remember all too well those feelings, those sleepless nights when my mind continued to whirl with the unrest of what if’s and the complete and utter sadness I felt all the way to my soul.

I remember reaching out and being connected to a woman named Nancy who had been diagnosed a year before me.  Occasionally I would call her (there wasn’t texting back in 2002) and with her 6th sense, she would call me sometimes as well ~ always with the most perfect timing.  We didn’t meet for months, but talked on the phone for hours.  She understood what I was enduring and I felt a peace with her as she connected with me, soul to soul, having endured all that I was going through at that time.  She didn’t frighten away when I told her how I felt.  She didn’t shatter when I spoke of my night-time fears and thoughts.  I didn’t sugarcoat how heart-wrenching it felt to be so bereft of my hair, my breasts and what I believed was my femininity.  I didn’t mince my words when I was angry at the cancer which stole so much from me.  I didn’t hold back the tears which many times flowed during the outpouring of emotions.  In turn, Nancy connected with me, empathized, held me spiritually and stayed the touchstone of healing in my life.  She was and still is a blessing in my life.

When I asked how I could ever repay such kindness, she simply asked me to pay it forward.  So with every person I’ve spoken, I remember the priceless feeling of acceptance that Nancy gave me, that feeling of being loved and understood, that knowledge that I didn’t have to comfort her when I needed comforting.  I could take the comfort when needed and when I was strong enough, I could give it as well ~ and that’s been our story for 11 years.  True friendship ~ give and take when needed ~ pure love and understanding.

Do you have a friend like this?  Are you a friend like this?  I am blessed to have many friends whom I can count on and they can count on me.  I have enjoyed the heartfelt connections I’ve made though my blog as well.  Thanks for reading and for being you! ♥

I wish you

ALOHA.

Today and Everyday.

Shine On!

xo

8 thoughts on “Pink Post ~ Aloha

  1. So glad that you have a special friend like that. I can only imagine what you went through. Agree that you have payed it forward and you are a blessing to so many. Aloha and wishing you a wonderful day ♥

  2. Aloha! And, oh, boy, I can relate to your story of connection, the give and take, the beauty of having someone who’s there for you, the magnificence of paying it forward. Beautiful post! Thank you.

Leave a Reply

