Calling 9/11 for Presents of Presence

Like many other bloggers, I find blogging on this day hard to ignore.  The great sadness that envelopes most of us on this day every year continues to be marked by the many tributes around our country to those who lost their lives 11 years ago today.  I won’t reiterate the great tragedy that fell so many lives in such a violent way, but instead I want to concentrate on today…the Present.

If we’ve learned anything at all, I believe it’s that there are no guarantees in this life.  We can be good people, kiss our families goodbye on a Tuesday morning, on our way to work notice the clear blue sky and the crisp cool air of Fall and without warning, succumb to a tragedy that still haunts our country 11 years later.

We only have the PRESENT…this moment in time is the only sure thing we have.  Being PRESENT in the PRESENT moment is a gift that many of us forget to enjoy on a daily basis.  We rush about with all the frenetic energy of mindlessness, of routine, of the shoulda, woulda and coulda’s that call out to our souls and we forget to stop and smell the roses because we are bombarded with all of the outside forces.

My cancer diagnosis on New Year’s Eve of 2001 was on the heels of the 9/11 tragedy and to me, personally, it was catastrophic as it changed my whole life.  It has made me over the years realize that when I am in that frenetic energy, I am missing out on the Presents of Presence.  I can be living a good life, following all the rules, working hard, doing what I’m supposed to do, getting caught up in the hustle and bustle of juggling all of my chosen roles in life and still, I can be hit with a reality that rocks my world to its very core and I will have to fight to survive.

Now almost 11 years later, I find that that frenetic energy returns without warning when I’m not vigilant about carving out my Presence time.  When I moderate my soul’s being with feeding her gratitude, love, blessings and hope, I feel renewed again and my energy changes from frenzy to peacefulness.  I find that when I give my troubles, my worries, my fast-paced frenzy to the Universe/God/Spirit, casting the burdens that weigh me down, I am free to help others, to be of service, to increase my inner tank of peace and improve my life and the lives of those with whom I’m in contact.

Sometimes you have to CALL 911 and ask for help when you need it.  You need to look up in faith, in love, in knowing that the time you take to enjoy this present moment is a gift that you are enjoying because you are blessed with the knowledge that:

Yesterday is the Past,

Tomorrow is the Future,

Today is a Gift

That’s why we call it the PRESENT.

Enjoy the Presents of Presence.

God Bless You!

xo

6 thoughts on “Calling 9/11 for Presents of Presence

Leave a Reply

