Penguins…Messages from Heaven…Pop Pop

Yesterday I spent with my Mom and we were going through my Dad’s email account to see if we had missed any messages from people who didn’t know that he had passed away back in June.  I did find 4 people who were continuing to email him and probably wondering why he hadn’t been responding as he was an avid emailer, so I sent them a note to reach out and let them know what had happened.

In looking though the messages, I found one from July 6 from my 12 year old son to Pop Pop.  I couldn’t believe my eyes…what in the world?  My son knew Pop Pop had passed so why was he emailing him?  Immediately I opened the email and read:

On Mon, May 7, 2012 at 7:08 AM, Pop Pop wrote:

Good luck today, Misifusa.  (FYI:  I was having surgery that day) Hope I have R**’s correct email address.  Luv ya, Dad  (He included a penguin video as he knew my son loved penguins ~ I’ve included a different one b/c the one he sent isn’t available anymore.  My son R** & I picked this one for your enjoyment!)

My son R** doesn’t check his email often, so when he saw this email from Pop Pop to both of us, he replied on 7/6/21 to Pop Pop

You do have the right email.  I remember memorial day buddy.  Glad you’re in a better place now 🙂 Luv ya too, your grandson (R**)

My heart just broke open as I read it aloud to my Mom…we began crying and with every recounting of that moment, I burst into tears.   I just can’t believe he wrote back to Pop Pop.  So when I got home yesterday, I talked with him.  I held him and told him how proud I was of him…how amazing I think he is and I asked him why he wrote back.  Simply put, he said, “I figured Pop Pop could read it from Heaven.”

And it was then and there that we began such an interesting conversation about Pop Pop’s life after death.  It seems that my son hears Pop Pop’s voice saying, “Hi Buddy” occasionally and while it doesn’t scare him, he thinks it’s a good sign that Pop Pop’s doing ok and so do I.

xo

31 thoughts on “Penguins…Messages from Heaven…Pop Pop

  1. That is just the most beautiful story – what an incredible young man your son is! They really can blow us away, the things they think of and feel, and it’s such a gift when we get a glimpse of what is going on inside of them. xo

  2. I love this! I’ve heard of many instances where people continue to write on the facebook wall of people who have passed away. What a beautiful tribute and perhaps healing for loved ones who often feel like they’re the only ones who remember…My thoughts are with you as you remember your dad and I hope your memories are filled with happy moments and the wonderful things your dad taught you. HUGS and peace to you and your family.

  3. This really is beautiful. What a special boy. They say often children are open to hearing an communicating with loved ones from the their side. Often their lack of fear makes it so sadly as we grow older we forget what we already know about the “spiritual world” and shut off to it and we forget who we are. Your son is adorable.

    I have voted you for the Lovely Blog Award. As a nominee, all you need to do is follow these simple rules;
    Create a post including the Lovely Blog Award Logo, thank the person who nominated you and nominate 15 others. See my post as an example Happy blogging! x

    http://dingdongitsmrwrong.wordpress.com/

  4. What a touching story and what a wonderful child!! Thanks for sharing this with us. It brought a smile to my face and touched my heart.

  5. Absolutely beautiful story and I love that your son told you that he hears him. How amazing to be open enough to still have that connection, and how fortunate is he that he has you to validate that! Thank you for sharing.

Leave a Reply

