You can’t take it with you…

Spend the afternoon. You can’t take it with you. ~Annie Dillard

I just had to have this card today to celebrate Friday in all its glory!  Happy Friday to YOU!  Although I must admit that Sunday is my favorite day of the week, Friday is a close second for obvious reasons!  Being that it’s still technically a Friday in the summer (one of the last ones), it’s the reason that I’m savoring it all the more.

Life is short.  We’ve all heard the cries of enjoy today, tomorrow is promised to no one.  My blog, my FB, my mantra is enjoying The Presents of Presence…Today is a gift, that’s why they call it the Present!  But do we ever truly think about it?  Perhaps in a fleeting thought at the end of the day or while driving to work or the grocery store…we may contemplate the magnitude of TODAY, but in a blink, the thought is replaced and we are back on the hamster wheel of reality.

For me, I am grateful for every dawn and dusk I see.  I realize how precious this time we have here on Earth is and I want to spend as much of it with my family and friends that I can.  For me, I want to be surrounded by happy, positive people that keep me uplifted and to whom I can reciprocate the optimism and inspire with my words.

Time is fleeting when you think about it.  As I’m getting older and my sons are taller than I am (ok one towers over me, the other one is hovering at my forehead), I realize just how precious the time we’ve had together is and how precious the time we spend together is!  I used to put off until tomorrow because there was always something else going on.  In my head, we had tomorrow to accomplish whatever it was, see whatever we wanted, go wherever we chose, but honestly…tomorrow is promised to nobody.  We will probably have tomorrow, but it’s still a chance…so why not spend today doing something lovely and wonderful with people whom you love!

Give yourself permission today if you have to and just enjoy the afternoon! 

Spend it, because you know you can’t take it with you!

Happy Friday!

xo

5 thoughts on “You can’t take it with you…

Leave a Reply

