Happiness…

Large Version of Card Front.
You live longer once you realize that any time spent being unhappy is wasted. Ruth E. Renkl
I had an epiphany recently which I thought I would share as it goes along so beautifully with this card, summer and life!  This year I declared was MY YEAR, but it hasn’t worked out the way I planned it to at all.  But then, sometimes the Best Miracles arrive without fanfare, without warning and certainly not within our control.
I am a worrier at times and I know the saying, “worrying is like sitting in a rocking chair ~ it gets you nowhere even though you keep rocking” or something like that… I can’t ever seem to get the exact quote, but please tell me that you get what I’m trying to say?  Anyway, as a family, we often take our boat out to an island which is about an hour away.  It is an ever popular spot amongst boaters as it marries the bay and the ocean via an island which allows you to anchor nearby and enjoy the day.
My thoughts and life have been changing this year and the proof was in the day yesterday that I’ve come a long way, Baby!  For the first time in years, I sat on our boat and enjoyed the day without driving my husband crazy by worrying about the other boaters who are not always careful when they are ‘parking’ and anchoring their boats.  Because it is such a popular spot, many people try to squeeze in-between boats in order to have the closest spot to the island.  We get there early so that we get a prime spot before the droves arrive and it’s that worry that someone will anchor too close that used to have me worrying the entire time we were there.  I would enjoy the day, but I couldn’t keep the worry out of my head nor out of my mouth.  I would motor on as such in a diatribe of worry that it drove my family crazy as well.
Yesterday was the first trip of the season (better late than never) and as the other boats neared, I smiled instead of scowling and simply enjoyed my day.  When the first boat came too close, my first reaction was to worry immediately if they were going to hit us, run over our anchor etc, and the peaceful thought of “Everything is fine,” allowed me to relax and stop the incessant worry which had plagued me for too many past summers.  And…it was WONDERFUL!  I let go!
I am finding that my life is changing for the better when I allow it which is more and more often.  My first thought it to imagine the worst, but it’s simply a bad habit which I’ve grown accustomed to over the years and I now know, has not served me well.  Like many habits, it’s breakable which is great news and it’s simply consistency in my thought process to change it.  Notice I am not being negative about breaking this undesirable habit of mine, I am being positive ~ positive that with time, effort and confidence I can have it licked soon!
Happy Sunday to You!
Enjoy the Miracle of Today!
xo
10 thoughts on “Happiness…

  1. Oh, I am sooo there with you, I love the part about getting there early and scowling at people as they come and fill up the spaces…that made me laugh. But im working on it too, I just had a similar experience and sat back worry free, and the world didnt end…it was nice. I wish more worry free days for you!

Leave a Reply

