Face the Sun!

Strength. Turn your face to the sun and shadows fall behind you.

Many of us have had tough times.  By a certain age, most of us have endured moments or longer of hard times and with that, have some experience in disappointment, sadness, fear, loss and such.  What I find most interesting though is how some people have endured hardships and yet they don’t allow those moments to define them.

Having been dealt the hand of breast cancer at age 34, I have experienced sadness, fear, loss and disappointment among other things…but that’s not to say that I haven’t been able to enjoy every sunrise, every cloud formation, every season and the precious moments of spontaneous hugs from my sons and family.   I’ve seen the darkness and I’ve seen the light.  Perhaps you feel that it’s not easy living on the roller coaster of life, a sentiment which I understand.  However, what brings me comfort is that with every nightfall, I know that in a few hours, there’s a sunrise waiting for me and it’s that sunrise I choose to concentrate on and ‘turn my face to’ everyday.  I feel grateful that I am here to experience it all ~ for without having experienced the darkness, how would we ever know how spectacular the sunrise is?

You own the power to choose everyday how you are going to face the day…

Turn your face to the sun and shadows fall behind you.

You’ll be glad you did!

xo

20 thoughts on “Face the Sun!

  1. Thanks to MoJo for sending me this way. What a wonderful and inspiring attitude. It’s always amazed me how some people not only roll with the punches but spring back better and more determined. Thank you for sharing.

  2. Pingback: Survival | Misifusa's Blog

  3. Pingback: Survival

  4. I never read this post of yours before, but i will say it is a very breathtaking piece of writing, your heart and spirit shine brightly! It is so very inspiring, and I do not have cancer, but there is a long list of things that I had to overcome since birth and yet I have never lost site of the beauty of life, and i have a wonderful mentor, the Lord! He has taught me daily that i can overcome everything that comes my way through Him who gives me strength. I was diagnose with MS, a year and a half ago, and though very painful at times, i have gotten to a place of piece regarding it and I refuse to let anything bring me down. When i read your words, I embrace your spirit, for life is indeed beautiful my sister no matter what! Thanks for the lift this Sunday morning. You will always be a golden treasure to me! God bless!

  5. Your words & energy from your writing emanate light & healing reminding us that appreciation for all that’s good connects just to the divine.. Shine On!

Leave a Reply

