Making your OWN Luck!

Can you spot the little leprechauns in the card above?  My friend AAngel posted a picture of Spring this morning and I was inspired to make the card above with it!  Obviously she didn’t see those tiny little helpers in her picture…

When my boys were little, every March 17th, we would take a walk and I would make up stories about leprechauns.  I explained how we needed to look up to find a rainbow in the sky because they hid the pot of gold at the end of the rainbow.  We would eagerly scan the sky to see if there were any signs of a rainbow and then we would walk slowly, our eyes darting around the green grass to see if we could spot any leprechauns who may be carrying their gold back to the rainbow’s end.

Inevitably, as we would be wandering, we would scare up a small animal which would make rustling noises and my kids would be convinced that we had come upon a leprechaun.  Together we would stealthily stalk the bush from where they had heard the noises ~ this gave me the precious few seconds that I needed in order to grab a few ‘gold coins’ aka shiny pennies from my pockets and throw them behind me.

Upon hearing the clinkity clank of the coins, my boys would wheel around thoroughly convinced that they had indeed scared a leprechaun and he had dropped his gold!  Laughing all the while, I would watch as they picked up the pennies and pulled me down the street hoping to find more leprechauns!

I loved listening to their chatter as their imaginations ‘saw’ the green jacket of a leprechaun suddenly darting behind a leaf…and they could ‘see’ the faint colors of a rainbow in the sky.

Perhaps we need to remember these moments in our own lives and awaken our imagination again.  Be open to the magical moments of life ~ allow yourself to believe in what you can’t see ~ reach out to enjoy the mystical wonder of childhood fantasy ~ even just for a moment…who says there isn’t a leprechaun around the corner waiting for you?

Wherever you go and whatever you do,
May the luck of the Irish be there with you
!

xo

 

 

9 thoughts on “Making your OWN Luck!

Leave a Reply

