God grant me…a Thankful Thursday!

God grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change;

courage to change the things I can,

and the wisdom to know the difference. -Reinhold Niebuhr

At various times in my life, I have, like a little pitbull, tried to change people, circumstances and situations to no avail.  I have, like a stubborn mule, refused to believe that if I just worked harder, showed how good I was, did everything perfectly, explained it better or got ‘them’ to see the light, that the desired effect would reign supreme.

And as you can guess, it didn’t work…maybe it did once or twice, but the majority of the time, my plan of execution fell short.

The above quote has been passed around many times, but I think it bears repeating because it’s a lesson that we all need to learn and sometimes relearn when we forget that the only thing we can change, the only person we can change is ourselves.  (not sure if that it grammatically correct, but you get the gist, right?)

Wayne Dyer has a quote which I adore ~ When you change the way you look at things, the things you look at change.

So now, when I see or feel the need for change, I don’t look outside myself or at my circumstances ~  instead I try to change the way I look at things and change myself, my way of thinking, my way of perceiving the situation, the people, the circumstance.  By no means is this an easy feat, but instead of feeling powerless, I feel powerful because I know I can do anything that I set my mind to and I can choose to just ‘be’ with what I find unacceptable knowing that it’s not about me.

That’s been a big change for me ~ one which I am still seeing the ripples of peace glide through my life because of it.

So on Thankful Thursday I offer this tidbit to you.

Be Thankful for YOU!  You have the Power to KNOW the Difference ~ so use it!

Be still ~ Be free ~ Be YOU!

And don’t let the turkeys get you down! 🙂

xo

Leave a Reply

